摩门教妇女项目 - 忠实的摩门教女性分享他们有关转换,见证,并战胜挑战的个人故事。

我们的合作部

在2012年8月2日,摩门教妇女项目,Neylan McBaine,的创始人提出了谈话题为FAIR(基金会护教信息和研究)会议“ 为了做教会的业务:一个合作范式检查性别化的参与在教会组织结构。“作为谈话的一部分,她建议通过多种方式来提高妇女参与教会的治理。 响应的流露表明很多你有自己的想法,增加妇女的参与!

摩门教妇女项目正在计划推出从摩门教徒的故事如何妇女和男子在一间病房,股权或任务等级已经成功合作,在教堂管理的存储库。 出版这些故事的目的是提醒人们注意正在发生在世界各地,使摩门教妇女在当地社区更明显,所涉及的许多基层的举措。 我们希望这些故事将注入希望和信心,多好正在发生的事情,并给了我们如何能够在我们自己的势力范围每提高具体的想法。

准则提交一个故事或例子摩门教妇女项目集合:

准则提交一个故事或例子摩门教妇女项目集合:

1.你的建议必须与该行2010教会手册
2.你的建议不应该贬低,批评或表达了对男性或男性教会领袖愤怒。
3.请将您的建议mwpeditor(在)的Gmail(点)的COM

请注意,提交是匿名的。 摩门教妇女计划保留不发表提交的权利。

性别合作:一般

一所女子训练营奇迹

它的显着怎样的答案都在最意想不到的方式,你已经放弃寻找或希望他们以后有时长。 我一直在努力与饮食失调,看似棘手的焦虑我的容貌,因为我是11岁。 几十年来,我学会了几分来管理这些感情,但他们都不是很远低于表面,而且我特别了解他们现在的我尝试通过这些年来是如此毁灭性的引导我年轻十几岁的女儿对我来说。 我经常担心如何摩门教文化可以促进这些感受,与改造夜活动,与“温和”的时尚秀和教训有关吸引丈夫的重要性。 我从来没有觉得我可以充分地传达怎样的痛苦将是一个摩门教徒的女孩谁是不是特别漂亮任何人的摩门教。

但最近,一个人的名字,我甚至不知道他不耐烦了病房,我们俩对于当天发生的被访问的证词,我发现我的心脏很难,残忍的心结解开了一些。 我很惊讶,当一个人站了起来,并说,他希望承担他的女营的证词。 他接着说,他觉得有点怪怪的有关这个故事作为一个病房里,他不知道任何一个游客,但经验是燃烧在他里面,他需要谈论它。

他说,他已要求给一个谈话女孩的营地,感受到了那种傻了。 他是在商学院的管理学教授,他不知道他有可能会不得不说,这将是值得这些女孩。 他记得大约只需努力工作,能够感知准备和欢迎精神最近的一些会议上举行会谈,所以他花了很多时间试图真的不知道他要谈什么,读经,祷告准备最后只是拼命的希望它会“在很小时”给予他知道他应该说些什么。

当他到训练营,他开始阅读关于光的报价页面,并要求女孩写下一个句子或词组,真正站出来给他们,然后写两个关于它的段落。 然后他问他们谈谈他们所编写的。 他们谈到了关于光和智慧和爱和真理几分钟 - 在各种各样的事情,他是那种期待。 最后,一​​个女孩说:“你知道的,我不认为自己是美丽的,但我觉得真的很漂亮,现在。”七,八个女生,他说,拿起美丽的主题,这绝不会发生在他身上在上下文中,他一直在思考,但他意识到,这是他们的灵魂最深处的需要。 他相关的,具有深厚的情感,他怎么了。据了解,这些女孩是“粉化”(他的话),不断有美女从各个方向扔在他们的打破,是不可能的理想,这是他们需要有疼痛由赎罪愈合。 然后他作证说,他曾看到愈合发生,短暂至少,因为他们看到自己在光明的经​​典描述的背景。 他表示感谢真知灼见有关接收的启示,如果我们真的爱那些人,我们准备教,并得出结论说,他很感谢有过他的祈祷回答,已经知道不知道如何打开车门的年轻妇女,其灵魂,他曾有幸一睹那一天。

我跟他简单地算账,告诉他我是多么有需要听到什么,他说,一方面是因为我所需要的处方看到自己和教我的女儿看到自己在不同的模式和福音提供不同的光线,但也因为我迫切需要知道,一个人可以接受女权主义者强烈的启示,无需寻找任何东西,除了上帝要他的女儿听到的。

我希望我问过他的名字。

添加您自己! 请将您的提交mwpeditor(在)的Gmail(点)的COM。

性别合作:首页

祖母的影响。

我有被提出的爷爷奶奶谁知道这种分工完美我想祝福......我想起了无数次我奶奶教大祭司在我们家的。 我的祖父是在我们的病房大祭司领导小组组长,他经常推迟到我的祖母在精神方面的专家或硬道理。 许多人,无论男女,来到奶奶的精神指导。 之后每一个祝福我的祖父给我,我们都会现场一起下来和我的祖母会导致什么上帝对我说的讨论(通过我的祖父)。

添加您自己! 请将您的提交mwpeditor(在)的Gmail(点)的COM。

性别合作:沃德

预算谈判, 由凯瑟琳·休斯,前者一般救济协会主席

我特别记得有次主教在圣事会议上说,年轻人在病房里将有机会通过放置标志在病房范围内房屋的前院,以筹集资金为他们的活动公布。 所有成员和邻居被邀请给的钱特定数额的年轻人,作为回报,在特殊的节假日,该标志将被放置在自家庭院。 我最近被释放的年轻女性担任,我也知道钱怎么一点有供他们活动。 我很不高兴。 而在本周,我想到了公告,我变得更加心烦意乱。 最后,我的丈夫说,“凯西,去跟主教。 他会听你的。“于是,我打电话给他的办公室工作,并约好和他一起参观。 我提出了我的关注,我的为什么是给少年人计划资金募集活动似乎不公平的理由。 他听了,问了一些问题,但没有承诺。 我所能做的仅此而已。 我想,如果我的会议做了什么好,当我从他那里什么也没听到,我开始觉得当初的决定会受不了。 但是,一个星期后,主教坐在我旁边的圣礼会议前,说:“凯西,我只是想让你知道,我们要涉及到年轻女性的项目。 而你不是谁来看我唯一的女人。 我听到一些!“奋勇,但礼貌地倡导那些我们被要求担任做了一个差异。 我一直认为是真实的。

一个长老定额计划

在接到他的电话几日,新的长老“在我们病区的Quorum总裁问他是否能在常规救济协会的时间上周日说话的姐妹。 他希望整个课时。 我们作为主治姐妹,不知道什么是对他的日程。 我假设救济协会会长知道发生了什么计划。 他,连同他的谋士,后他们的教士开设练习加入了我们。 长老们法定人数总裁感谢我们让他在那里,然后问我们建议他如何在长老定额可以更好地服务于姐妹在病房。 他想知道我们关心的是,什么他们可以做的更好的服务和支持我们的妇女,在福音姐妹,母亲和作为妻子。 他有他的谋士写下来的一切,以便共享和定期(和匿名)审查。 一旦信任建立在那次会议上,我记得姐妹自由和公开分享他们的想法。 出人意料的是,它并没有变成一个抱怨会话斤斤计较的播出,但它留下来的长老定额总统设立的精神。 我想如果有性别问题在病房里流行,也许是基于过去的传统和习俗,这是一个令人钦佩的方式来弥补缺口,形成合作与谅解的一个新的水平。 幸运的是,长老定额总裁无非是真诚的在他的努力来做到这一点。

教学“我的王国的女儿”

当“我的王国的女儿”也出来了,我的丈夫看了看,通过它,并说,“你知道,我真的很喜欢教这在长老法定人数。”他目前没有被称为一个长老定额老师就问长老们的特别许可仲裁总裁每个月教它作为第一个星期日教训了一年。 长老们法定人数总裁喜欢这个主意,去了主教,谁也喜欢这个主意,所以自2012年1月,我丈夫一直教长老定额救济协会使用“我的王国的女儿”的历史上源文本。 也许明年,我们的救济协会将采取提示,并做得一样好?

添加您自己! 请将您的提交mwpeditor(在)的Gmail(点)的COM。


性别合作:使命

使命母亲的影响

我和妻子刚刚从返回[美国主要城市]我们主持的使命。 从一开始我决定,这将是我们的使命,我的妻子会被列入尽可能多的方式尽可能。 她是谁一直清晨神学院的老师,YW领导等六的母亲非常能干的人。 她也是一个有不同的观点比我转换。 在与传教士几乎每堂训练课,她是一名教师,而不是东西,如配方和缝补袜子,但教义或任何她觉得他们需要听到的。 她经常劝告与情感和动机问题传教士 - 这两个姐妹和长辈。 当我们有我们的会议,决定转移和领导的召唤,她在那里给她的律师。 她多次知道事情或者有没有发生,我认为印象。 我们没有区议会的领导者,但他们改为使命议会,总是邀请四位姐妹出席随着欧元区领导人。 我们确信姐妹们知道我们希望他们参与,给他们的律师。 我们发现,有很多方法可以包括更多的姐妹们和保持它们的忠实,勤勉传教士的例子(他们是)。 我们有比大多数任务更姐妹。 我觉得我们是幸运,有那么多。

添加您自己! 请将您的提交mwpeditor(在)的Gmail(点)的COM。

SEO技术白金SEOTechblissonline

Mormon Women Project - faithful Mormon women share their personal stories about conversion, testimony, and overcoming challenges.

Our Cooperative Ministry

On August 2nd, 2012, the founder of the Mormon Women Project, Neylan McBaine, presented a talk at the FAIR (Foundation for Apologetic Information and Research) Conference entitled “To Do the Business of the Church: A Cooperative Paradigm for Examining Gendered Participation Within Church Organizational Structure.” As part of the talk, she suggested a number of ways to increase women’s participation in church governance. The outpouring of response showed that many of you have your own ideas for increasing women’s participation!

The Mormon Women Project is planning to launch a repository of stories from Mormons about how women and men have successfully cooperated in church governance at a ward, stake or mission level. The purpose of publishing these stories is to draw attention to the many grassroots initiatives that are taking place around the world to make Mormon women more visible and involved in their local communities. We hope that these stories will instill hope and confidence that much good is happening, and will give specific ideas for how we can each improve in our own spheres of influence.

Guidelines for submitting a story or example to the Mormon Women Project collection:

Guidelines for submitting a story or example to the Mormon Women Project collection:

1. Your suggestion must be in line with the 2010 Church Handbook.
2. Your suggestion should not demean, criticize or express anger towards men or male church leaders.
3. Please email your suggestion to mwpeditor (at) gmail (dot) com

Please note that submissions are anonymous. The Mormon Women Project reserves the right not to publish a submission.

Gender Cooperation: General

A Girls’ Camp Miracle

It’s remarkable how answers come in the most unexpected ways, sometimes long after you’ve given up looking or hoping for them. I’ve struggled with eating disorders and seemingly intractable anxiety about my looks since I was 11 years old. Over decades, I’ve learned to sort of manage those feelings, but they’re never very far below the surface, and I’m particularly aware of them now as I try to guide my young teenaged daughter through those years that were so devastating for me. I have often worried about the ways Mormon culture can contribute to these feelings, with makeover night activities, and “modest” fashion shows and lessons about the importance of attracting a husband. I’ve never felt like I could adequately convey how painful it was to be a Mormon girl who isn’t especially pretty to any Mormon man.

But recently, a man whose name I don’t even know bore his testimony in a ward we both happened to be visiting for the day, and I found that hard, cruel knot in my heart unraveling a little. I was surprised when a man stood up and said he wanted to bear his testimony of Girls’ Camp. He went on to say that he felt a bit strange relating this story as a visitor in a ward where he didn’t know anyone, but that the experience was burning inside him and he needed to talk about it.

He said that he had been asked to give a talk at girls’ camp and felt sort of silly about it. He’s a Management professor at a business school and he didn’t know what he might possibly have to say that would be worthwhile to these girls. He remembered some recent conference talks about preparing by simply working harder to be able to perceive and welcome the Spirit, so he spent a lot of time trying to prepare without really knowing what he should talk about, reading scriptures and praying and finally just desperately hoping that it would be given to him “in the very hour” to know what he should say.

When he got to camp, he began by reading a page of quotations about light, and asked the girls to write down one sentence or phrase that really stood out to them, and then write a paragraph or two about it. And then he asked them to talk about what they had written. They spoke for several minutes about light and intelligence and love and truth — the sorts of things he was kind of expecting. Finally, one girl said “You know, I don’t think of myself as beautiful, but I feel really beautiful right now.” Seven or eight girls, he said, took up the theme of beauty, which would never have occurred to him in the context he had been thinking of, but he realized that this was the deepest need of their souls. He related, with deep emotion, how he had been given to understand that these girls are “pulverized” (his word) by constantly having crushingly impossible ideals of beauty flung at them from every side, and that this was the pain they needed to have healed by the Atonement. And then he testified that he had seen that healing happen, at least briefly, as they saw themselves in the context of the kind of light the scriptures describe. He expressed gratitude for wise counsel about receiving revelation if we will really love those whom we prepare to teach, and concluded that he was grateful for having had his prayer answered, having known without knowing how to open that door for the young women whose souls he had been privileged to glimpse that day.

I spoke with him briefly afterwards, to tell him how much I had needed to hear what he said–both because I needed the prescription for seeing myself and teaching my daughter to see herself in the different paradigm and different light provided by the gospel, but also because I desperately needed to know that a man can receive a strongly feminist revelation, without going looking for anything except what God wants His daughters to hear.

I wish I had asked his name.

Add your own! Send your submission to mwpeditor (at) gmail (dot) com.

Gender Cooperation: Home

A Grandmother’s Influence

I had the blessing of being raised by my grandparents who understood this division of labor perfectly I think… I am reminded of the numerous times my grandmother taught high priests at our house. My grandfather was the high priest group leader in our ward and he often deferred to my grandmother as the expert or last word on spiritual matters. Many people, both men and women, came to my grandmother for spiritual guidance. After every blessing my grandfather gave me, we would all site down together and my grandmother would lead a discussion about what God had said to me (through my grandfather).

Add your own! Send your submission to mwpeditor (at) gmail (dot) com. 

 

Gender Cooperation: Ward

Budget Negotiations, by Kathleen Hughes, Former General Relief Society Presidency

I particularly recall an occasion when the Bishop announced in Sacrament meeting that the young men in the ward would be given the opportunity to raise money for their activities by placing flags in the front yards of homes within the ward boundaries. All members and neighbors were invited to give a particular amount of money to the young men and in return, on special national holidays, the flags would be placed in their yards. I had recently been released from serving in Young Women and I well knew how little money there was available for their activities. I was upset. And during the week, as I thought about the announcement, I became more upset.  Finally, my husband said, “Kathy, go talk to the Bishop. He’ll listen to you.” So, I called his office at work and made an appointment to visit with him. I laid out my concerns and my rationale for why the planned money-raising activity for the Young Men seemed unfair. He listened, asked some questions, but made no commitments. I could do nothing more. I wondered if my meeting had done any good, and when I heard nothing from him, I began to think that the original decision would stand. But, a week later the Bishop sat down next to me before Sacrament meeting and said, “Kathy, I just want you to know that we are going to involve the young women in the project. And you were not the only woman who came to see me. I heard from several!” Courageously, but courteously advocating for those we are called to serve had made a difference. I have consistently found that to be true.

An Elders’ Quorum Initiative

Within a few Sundays of receiving his call, the new Elders’ Quorum president in our ward asked if he could speak to the sisters during the regular Relief Society time on Sunday. He wanted the entire lesson time. We, as attending sisters, had no idea what was on his agenda. I’m assuming the Relief Society president knew what was planned. He, along with his counselors, joined us after their Priesthood opening exercises. The Elders’ Quorum president thanked us for allowing him there and then asked us to advise him on how the Elders’ Quorum could better serve the sisters in the ward. He wanted to know what our concerns were, and what they could do better to serve and support us as women, as sisters in the gospel, as mothers and as wives. He had his counselors write everything down so as to be shared and reviewed regularly (and anonymously). As soon as trust was established in that meeting, I remember the sisters shared their thoughts freely and openly. Surprisingly, it didn’t turn into a gripe session with the airing of petty grievances, but it stayed within the spirit the Elders’ Quorum president established. I think if there are gender issues prevalent in a ward, perhaps based on traditions and practices of the past, this is an admirable way to bridge the gap and form a new level of cooperation and understanding. Fortunately, the Elders’ Quorum president was nothing but sincere in his efforts to do just that.

 

Teaching “Daughters in My Kingdom”

When “Daughters in My Kingdom” came out, my husband looked through it and said, “You know, I’d really like to teach this in the Elders’ Quorum.” He’s not currently called as an Elders’ Quorum teacher so he asked the Elders’ Quorum president for special permission to teach it as the 1st Sunday lesson each month for a year. The Elders’ Quorum president liked the idea, went to the bishop, who also liked the idea, and so since January 2012, my husband has been teaching the Elders’ Quorum the history of the Relief Society using “Daughters in My Kingdom” as the source text. Maybe next year, our Relief Society will take the cue and do it as well…

Add your own! Send your submission to mwpeditor (at) gmail (dot) com.


Gender Cooperation: Mission

A Mission Mother’s Influence

My wife and I just returned from [a major U.S. city] where we presided over the mission.  Right from the beginning I determined that it would be our mission and that my wife would be included in as many ways as possible. She’s a very capable person who’s been an early morning seminary teacher, YW leader, etc and mother of six. She’s also a convert with a different perspective than me. In nearly every training session with missionaries she was a teacher, not stuff like recipes and mending socks, but doctrinal or whatever she felt they needed to hear.  She regularly counseled with missionaries on emotional and motivational issues – both sisters and elders. When we had our meeting to decide on transfers and leadership callings she was there to give her counsel. She many times knew things or had impressions that hadn’t occurred to me. We didn’t have zone leader councils but changed them to mission councils and always invited four sisters to attend along with the zone leaders.  We made sure the sisters knew we wanted them to participate and give their counsel.  We found that there were many ways to include the sisters more and hold them up as examples of faithful, diligent missionaries (which they were). We had more sisters than most missions. I felt like we were blessed to have that many.

 

Add your own! Send your submission to mwpeditor (at) gmail (dot) com.

 

 

 

SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline