Posts Tagged 'California'

9. April 2014 von admin

4 Kommentare

Snapshot-Porträt: Laura Breksa

Snapshot-Porträt: Laura Breksa

Richmond, CA, 2. April 2014

"Gott war wie ein Nachbar, der ein paar Häuser in der Straße lebte. Ich würde zu ihm gehen, wenn etwas gebrochen war, kommen zurück, um die reparierte Problem sammeln, winken mir die Hand in unausgesprochene Dank und beschleunigen wieder nach Hause. "

Teile diesen Artikel:

5. Juni 2013 von admin

5 Kommentare

Mohawk Junkie

Mohawk Junkie

Jessamyn Lau

Jessamyn Lau, wandte sich eine hohe Schulabbrecherkunststudent einge MBA, spricht über ihre Philosophie der Risikobereitschaft und ihr Vertrauen in ein Tochter Gottes. Jessamyn nicht-traditionellen Karriereweg hat sie von Kellnerin zum Unterrichten in China und jetzt zum Aufbau der Bereich Social Entrepreneurship geführt. Sie ist der Beweis, dass kalkulierte Risiken kann sich auszahlen. Ihr Rat? Seien Sie mutig. Seien gewollt. Seien Gebet. Und versuchen Sie, sich einen Irokesenschnitt.

Teile diesen Artikel:

6. März 2013 von admin

24 Kommentare

Betty Stevenson wuchs in einer afro-amerikanischen Gemeinde in der Nähe von San Francisco. Nach spiralförmig durch missbräuchliche Beziehungen, Drogenhandel und Gefängnis, trat sie in die Kirche. Betty war viele Jahre als der FHV-Leiterin des neu gebildeten Oakland Neunte Branch, der einige der ärmsten Viertel von Oakland zusammengesetzt ist, und sie ist der Gründer einer Organisation, die kostenlose Fußball-Camps veranstaltet. Zusätzlich wird Betty ihre drei Urenkel Anhebung.

Teile diesen Artikel:

21. Oktober 2012 von admin

19 Kommentare

Eine amerikanische Bildung

Eine amerikanische Bildung

Raquel Perez Johnston

Raquel Johnston ist ein ehemaliger kubanischer Flüchtling, der im Alter von 10 nach Amerika kamen. Unter den Segnungen, die sie in den Vereinigten Staaten entdeckt, gelernt Raquel den Wert von Bildung und wurde zur Kirche umgebaut. Sie hat diese beiden Hinterlassenschaften auf ihre sieben Kinder weitergegeben.

Teile diesen Artikel:

29. November 2011 von admin

11 Kommentare

Joanna Brooks wurde als ein wichtiger Kommentator Mormonentum für Mainstream-Medien entstanden. In der Tat, in diesem Jahr politisch nannte sie als eine von 50 Kommentatoren, in Amerika zu beobachten. Sie ist derzeit der Vorsitzende der Abteilung für Englische und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft an der San Diego State University. Sie schreibt über Mormonen Religion und Politik für Abfertigungen und ist der Autor von askmormongirl.com.

Teile diesen Artikel:

17. August 2011 von admin

16 Kommentare

Die Balance

Die Balance

Liz Wiseman

Als Vice President bei Silicon Valley-Riese, Oracle, seit 17 Jahren, lernte Liz Wiseman, nein zu jede Verpflichtung, die nicht funktionieren wurde, einer Kirche oder ihren vier Kindern zu sagen. Jetzt als Autor und Verwaltung ihrer eigenen Führungsberatung, arbeitet Liz mit ihrem Mann zu Hause und besuchte vor kurzem ihr 32. Land. Sie fühlt sich ihre größte Ehre, obwohl, ist alles, was sie gelernt hat, zum Wohle der Kirche zu arbeiten setzen.

Teile diesen Artikel:

5. August 2011 von admin

5 Kommentare

Sein Versprechen halten

Sein Versprechen halten

Bonnie Butler

Während viele Mütter jonglieren Kinder und eine Karriere, hat Bonnie Kinder als Karriere jonglierte. Sie war eine Mutter für ihren eigenen vier biologischen Kinder sowie ihre sechs Kinder angenommen, und viele Pflegekinder sind von ihrer Fürsorge und Liebe gesegnet. Sie wusste nicht, dass dies Teil des Plans für sie, aber sie ist gekommen, um Gottes Wort zu verstehen, und folgen ihm. Er hat ihr vertraut, und sie hat gelernt, dass die schwierigen Dinge im Leben viel Segen bringen.

Teile diesen Artikel:

31. März 2011 von admin

9 Kommentare

Ihre Studie ist Ihre größte Schatz

Ihre Studie ist Ihre größte Schatz

Barbara Barrington Jones

Eine beliebte Lautsprecher LDS Jugend und Frauen auf der ganzen Welt, teilt Barbara Barrington Jones die Ereignisse und Lehren aus ihrem Leben, die ihr erlaubt haben, so viele in ihren 24 Jahren öffentlich zu sprechen zu berühren. Nach einer Karriere als Balletttänzerin und zwölf Jahren in einer gewalttätigen Ehe, heiratete Barbara einen viel älteren Mann, mit dem sie die Kirche gefunden. Mit ihrem Markenzeichen Glauben, Kraft und Witz, erzählt Barbara ihrer bemerkenswerten Geschichte und teilt ihre Perlen der Weisheit.

Teile diesen Artikel:

23. Februar 2011 von admin

16 Kommentare

Melissa Puente ist eine Emmy-preisgekrönte Fernsehredakteurin und Mutter von zwei Gruppen von zwei Jungen im Alter von 4 und 2. Mit vier Jungen unter drei, fühlte Melissa Spannung in ihr Haus, das hat ihre Dankbarkeit an sicher mit ihr Kinder mit ihr nicht unbedingt . Sie forderte sich selbst zu Elternschaft Bücher lesen und dokumentieren ihre Antworten auf ihrer eigenen Website, Lernen Mama. Sie nimmt nun ihre Ausbildung als Mutter so ernst wie ihre Ausbildung als TV-Redakteur.

Teile diesen Artikel:

16. Februar 2011 von admin

15 Kommentare

Shu-Chih wuchs in Taiwan, kam in die Vereinigten Staaten von sich selbst als Teenager und Mitglied der Mormonenkirche. Sie musste viele Hindernisse, einschließlich der Familienmissbilligung, das Leben in einem fremden Land und Erziehung von drei Kindern als alleinerziehende Mutter zu überwinden. Shu-Chih ist ein vollendeter Künstler und besitzt ihre eigene Kunstschule, wo sie lehrt einen wachsenden chinesischen Bevölkerung in Irvine, CA.

Teile diesen Artikel:

16. Juni 2010 von admin

1 Kommentar

Wohnzimmer-Grundlagen

Wohnzimmer-Grundlagen

Rebecca Cressman

Als High-School-Schüler, entschieden, dass der Rundfunk Rebecca war definitiv nicht eine Branche, in der sie arbeiten wollte. , Ihre dynamische Radio-Persönlichkeit und unverwechselbaren Stimme eröffnet jedoch Türen zu Fernseh-und Radioarbeit, die sie Stück für Stück verfolgt, wie ihre drei Söhne noch klein waren. Jetzt mit erwachsenen Kindern, ist Rebecca Gastgeber der FM 100,3 in Salt Lake City und eine Vielzahl an BYU TV.

Teile diesen Artikel:

28. Oktober 2009 von admin

4 Kommentare

Von Tanzen bis Windeln

Von Tanzen bis Windeln

Lisa Hess Jones

Lisa Jones ist die Mutter von zwei Söhnen, ein auf einer Mission und einer in der High School. Doch bevor sie "Mama" war, war sie ein Solotänzerin an der New York City Ballet 1975-1985 und ein Favorit des Firmengründers George Balanchine. Lisa spricht über dieser beiden unterschiedlichen Epochen in ihrem Leben und warum sie so bereit, vom Denken über sich selbst als Tänzer zu denken, über jemand anderen als Mutter über war.

Teile diesen Artikel:

19. Oktober 2009 von admin

5 Kommentare

Beyond This Mortal Coil

Beyond This Mortal Coil

Lynn Anderson

Zwei der geborene Kinder Lynn Anderson trug eine seltene genetische Krankheit - Epidermolysis bullosa (EB) - die Haut eines Kindes von der wachsenden mit ihrem Körper verhindert. Nach dreißig Jahren der Pflege ihrer Kinder und Trauer den Tod, Lynn gegründet, eine Organisation, die Geld für EB Forschung an der Stanford University angehoben. Lynn freut sich nun in einem neu zugelassene Therapie gibt, die das Leben vieler Kinder EB sparen.

Teile diesen Artikel:

SEO by Powered Platinum SEO aus Techblissonline

Posts Tagged ‘California’

August 18th, 2014 by admin

9 Comments

Aspiring Mormon Women

Aspiring Mormon Women

Naomi Watkins

Just when Naomi Watkins thought she was done with school forever, she felt the Lord redirect her path. Now she wants to encourage other women to find that inspiration for themselves. To help with that goal, she founded Aspiring Mormon Women, a non-profit organization intended to support and celebrate the educational and professional aspirations of LDS women. “God does not place limits on us,” Naomi says, “and learning to listen to and follow the Spirit are paramount skills to develop.”

July 16th, 2014 by admin

7 Comments

To Be A Vessel

To Be A Vessel

Jamillah Ali-Rashada

As a young woman, Jamillah Ali-Rashada prayed that Allah would let her live to raise children. In return, she promised that she would serve others for the rest of her life. She’s kept that promise by trying to be a vessel for the Spirit and its guidance. When Jamillah joined the LDS Church three years ago, she found her path leading to new and profound avenues for serving God’s children. “I have been purposed and called to this for such a time as this,” Jamillah says.”If that is the work and the service that I am supposed to perform, then it is my Heaven.”

April 9th, 2014 by admin

4 Comments

Snapshot Portrait: Laura Breksa

Snapshot Portrait: Laura Breksa

Richmond, CA, April 2, 2014

“God was like a neighbor who lived a few houses down the street. I’d go to him when something was broken, come back to collect the repaired problem, wave my hand in unspoken thanks, and speed back home.”

June 5th, 2013 by admin

5 Comments

Mohawk Junkie

Mohawk Junkie

Jessamyn Lau

Jessamyn Lau, a high school drop-out turned art student turned MBA, speaks about her philosophy of risk-taking and her confidence in being a daughter of God. Jessamyn’s non-traditional career path has led her from waitressing to teaching in China and now to building the field of social entrepreneurship. She’s proof that calculated risks can pay off. Her advice? Be bold. Be deliberate. Be prayerful. And try getting a mohawk.

March 6th, 2013 by admin

25 Comments

Betty Stevenson grew up in an African-American community near San Francisco. After spiraling through abusive relationships, drug dealing and jail, she joined the Church. Betty served for many years as the Relief Society president of the newly formed Oakland Ninth Branch, composed of some of Oakland’s poorest neighborhoods, and she is the founder of an organization that hosts free football camps. In addition, Betty is raising her three great-grandchildren.

October 21st, 2012 by admin

19 Comments

An American Education

An American Education

Raquel Perez Johnston

Raquel Johnston is a former Cuban refugee who came to America at age 10. Among the blessings she discovered in the United States, Raquel learned the value of education and became converted to the Church. She has passed both of those legacies on to her seven children.

November 29th, 2011 by admin

11 Comments

Joanna Brooks has emerged as an important commentator on Mormonism for mainstream media. In fact, this year Politico named her as one of 50 commentators to watch in America. She is currently the Chair of the Department of English and Comparative Literature at San Diego State University. She writes about Mormonism and politics for Religion Dispatches and is the author of askmormongirl.com.

August 17th, 2011 by admin

16 Comments

Finding the Balance

Finding the Balance

Liz Wiseman

As a vice president at the Silicon Valley giant, Oracle, for 17 years, Liz Wiseman learned to say no to any commitment that wasn’t work, church or her four children. Now as an author and managing her own leadership consultancy, Liz works with her husband at home and recently visited her 32nd country. She feels her greatest honor, though, is putting everything she’s learned to work for the benefit of the Church.

August 5th, 2011 by admin

5 Comments

Keeping His Promise

Keeping His Promise

Bonnie Butler

While many moms juggle kids and a career, Bonnie has juggled kids as a career. She has been a mother to her own four biological kids as well as her six adopted kids, and many foster children have been blessed by her care and love. She didn’t know that this was part of the plan for her, but she has come to understand God’s word, and follow it. He has trusted her, and she has learned that the difficult things in life bring many blessings.

March 31st, 2011 by admin

9 Comments

Your Trial Is Your Greatest Treasure

Your Trial Is Your Greatest Treasure

Barbara Barrington Jones

A popular speaker to LDS youth and women around the world, Barbara Barrington Jones shares the events and lessons of her life that have allowed her to touch so many in her 24 years of public speaking. After a career as a ballet dancer and twelve years in an abusive marriage, Barbara married a much older man with whom she found the Church. With her trademark faith, strength and wit, Barbara tells her remarkable story and shares her pearls of wisdom.

February 23rd, 2011 by admin

16 Comments

Melissa Puente is an Emmy-winning television editor and a mother of two sets of twin boys, ages 4 and 2. With four boys under three, Melissa felt tension in her home that didn’t reflect her gratitude at having her children safely with her. She challenged herself to read parenting books and document her responses on her own website, Learning Mommy. She now takes her education as a mother as seriously as her education as a TV editor.

February 16th, 2011 by admin

15 Comments

Shu-Chih grew up in Taiwan, came to the United States by herself as a teenager and joined the Mormon Church. She had to overcome many obstacles, including family disapproval, living in a foreign country and raising three kids as a single mom. Shu-Chih is an accomplished artist and owns her own art school where she teaches a growing Chinese population in Irvine, CA.

June 16th, 2010 by admin

1 Comment

Living Essentials

Living Essentials

Rebecca Cressman

As a high school student, Rebecca decided that broadcasting was definitely not an industry in which she wanted to work. However, her dynamic radio personality and distinctive voice opened doors to television and radio work which she pursued piecemeal as her three sons were young. Now with grown children, Rebecca is the host of FM 100.3 in Salt Lake City and a host on BYU TV.

October 28th, 2009 by admin

4 Comments

From Dancing to Diapers

From Dancing to Diapers

Lisa Hess Jones

Lisa Jones is the mother of two sons, one on a mission and one in high school. But before she was “mom”, she was a solo dancer at the New York City Ballet from 1975 to 1985 and a favorite of the company’s founder George Balanchine. Lisa talks about these two distinct eras in her life and why she was so ready to transition from thinking about herself as a dancer to thinking about someone else as a mother.

October 19th, 2009 by admin

5 Comments

Beyond This Mortal Coil

Beyond This Mortal Coil

Lynn Anderson

Two of Lynn Anderson’s natural born children carried a rare genetic disease — epidermolysis bullosa (EB) — which prevents a child’s skin from growing with their body. After thirty years of nursing her children and grieving their deaths, Lynn founded an organization that raised money for EB research at Stanford University. Lynn now rejoices in a newly-approved treatment that will save the lives of many EB children.

SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline