Posts Tagged 'Californie'

9 avril 2014 par admin

4 Commentaires

Portrait instantané: Laura Breksa

Portrait instantané: Laura Breksa

Richmond, CA, le 2 Avril, 2014

«Dieu était comme un voisin qui habitait quelques maisons dans la rue. Je vais lui quand quelque chose était cassé, revenir à recueillir le problème réparé, agiter ma main dans la grâce tacites, et accélérer à la maison ".

Partagez cet article:

5 juin 2013 par admin

5 Commentaires

Mohawk Junkie

Mohawk Junkie

Jessamyn Lau

Jessamyn Lau, un décrochage scolaire s'est étudiant en art tourné MBA, parle de sa philosophie de la prise de risque et sa confiance en étant une fille de Dieu. Cheminement de carrière non traditionnelle de Jessamyn l'a menée de serveuse à l'enseignement en Chine et maintenant à la constitution du champ de l'entrepreneuriat social. Elle est la preuve que des risques calculés peuvent payer. Son conseil? Soyez audacieux. Soyez délibérée. Soyez la prière. Et essayer d'obtenir un Mohawk.

Partagez cet article:

6 mars 2013 par admin

24 Commentaires

Betty Stevenson a grandi dans une communauté afro-américaine près de San Francisco. Après en spirale dans des relations abusives, le trafic de drogue et la prison, elle a rejoint l'Eglise. Betty a servi pendant de nombreuses années en tant que président de la Société de Secours Oakland neuvième Direction nouvellement formé, composé de certains des quartiers les plus pauvres d'Oakland, et elle est la fondatrice d'une organisation qui accueille des camps de football gratuits. En outre, Betty élève ses trois arrière-petits-enfants.

Partagez cet article:

21 octobre 2012 par admin

19 Commentaires

Une éducation américaine

Une éducation américaine

Raquel Perez Johnston

Raquel Johnston est un ancien réfugié cubain qui est venu en Amérique à 10 ans. Parmi les bénédictions qu'elle découvre dans les États-Unis, Raquel a appris la valeur de l'éducation et se convertit à l'Église. Elle a passé ces deux legs à ses sept enfants.

Partagez cet article:

29 novembre 2011 par admin

11 Commentaires

Joanna Brooks a émergé comme un commentateur importante sur le mormonisme pour les médias traditionnels. En fait, cette année Politico a nommée comme l'un des 50 observateurs à surveiller en Amérique. Elle est actuellement le président du Département d'anglais et de littérature comparée à l'Université d'État de San Diego. Elle écrit sur le mormonisme et la politique de Religion Dispatches et est l'auteur de askmormongirl.com.

Partagez cet article:

17 août 2011 par admin

16 Commentaires

Trouver l'équilibre

Trouver l'équilibre

Liz Wiseman

Comme vice-président du géant de la Silicon Valley, Oracle, pendant 17 ans, Liz Wiseman a appris à dire non à tout engagement qui n'a pas été travailler, église ou ses quatre enfants. Maintenant en tant qu'auteur et gérer sa propre société de conseil en leadership, Liz travaille avec son mari à la maison et s'est rendu récemment son 32e pays. Elle sent son plus grand honneur, cependant, est de mettre tout ce qu'elle a appris à travailler pour le bien de l'Église.

Partagez cet article:

5 août 2011 par admin

5 Commentaires

Tenir sa promesse

Tenir sa promesse

Bonnie Butler

Alors que de nombreuses mamans jonglent enfants et une carrière, Bonnie a jonglé avec les enfants comme une carrière. Elle a été une mère pour ses propres quatre enfants biologiques ainsi que ses six enfants adoptés, et de nombreux enfants adoptifs ont été béni par ses soins et l'amour. Elle ne savait pas que cela faisait partie du plan pour elle, mais elle a fini par comprendre la parole de Dieu, et le suivre. Il lui a fait confiance, et elle a appris que les choses difficiles dans la vie apportera de nombreux bienfaits.

Partagez cet article:

31 mars 2011 par admin

9 Commentaires

Un haut-parleur populaire pour les jeunes et les femmes du monde entier LDS, Barbara Jones Barrington part les événements et les leçons de sa vie qui lui ont permis de toucher un si grand nombre de ses 24 ans de parler en public. Après une carrière de danseuse de ballet et douze ans dans un mariage abusif, Barbara a épousé un homme beaucoup plus âgé avec qui elle a trouvé l'Eglise. Avec sa marque de fabrique foi, la force et l'esprit, Barbara raconte son histoire remarquable et partage ses perles de sagesse.

Partagez cet article:

23 février 2011 par admin

16 Commentaires

Melissa Puente est un éditeur de télévision Emmy-winning et mère de deux ensembles de garçons jumeaux, âgés de 4 et 2. Avec quatre garçons de moins de trois ans, Melissa sentir la tension dans sa maison qui ne reflétait pas sa gratitude d'avoir ses enfants en toute sécurité avec son . Elle a contesté à lire des livres parentales et documenter ses réponses sur son propre site Web, l'apprentissage maman. Elle prend maintenant son éducation comme une mère aussi sérieusement que son éducation comme un éditeur de TV.

Partagez cet article:

16 février 2011 par admin

15 Commentaires

Shu-Chih a grandi à Taiwan, est venu aux États-Unis par elle-même comme un adolescent et a rejoint l'Église mormone. Elle a dû surmonter de nombreux obstacles, y compris la désapprobation de la famille, de vivre dans un pays étranger et d'élever trois enfants comme une mère célibataire. Shu-Chih est un artiste accompli et possède sa propre école d'art où elle enseigne une population croissante de la Chine à Irvine, en Californie.

Partagez cet article:

16 juin 2010 par admin

1 Commentaire

Essentials Salons

Essentials Salons

Rebecca Cressman

Comme un élève de l'école, Rebecca a décidé que la radiodiffusion n'était certainement pas une industrie dans laquelle elle voulait travailler. Cependant, sa personnalité de la radio dynamique et voix distinctive ouvert les portes à la télévision et à la radio travaux qu'elle poursuit au coup par coup comme ses trois fils étaient jeunes. Maintenant avec des enfants adultes, Rebecca est l'hôte du FM 100,3 à Salt Lake City et une foule de BYU TV.

Partagez cet article:

28 octobre 2009 par admin

4 Commentaires

De Danse à Couches

De Danse à Couches

Lisa Hess Jones

Lisa Jones est la mère de deux fils, l'un sur une mission et une à l'école secondaire. Mais avant, elle était «maman», elle était danseuse solo au New York City Ballet 1975-1985 et un favori du fondateur de la société de George Balanchine. Lisa parle de ces deux époques distinctes dans sa vie et pourquoi elle était si prêt à passer de la pensée sur elle-même en tant que danseuse à penser à quelqu'un d'autre en tant que mère.

Partagez cet article:

19 octobre 2009 par admin

5 Commentaires

Deux des enfants naturels nés de Lynn Anderson portait une maladie génétique rare - bulleuse épidermolyse (EB) - qui empêche la peau d'un enfant de plus en plus avec leur corps. Après trente ans de soins infirmiers et le deuil ses enfants leur mort, Lynn a fondé une organisation qui a recueilli des fonds pour la recherche EB à l'Université Stanford. Lynn se réjouit maintenant d'un traitement nouvellement approuvé qui permettra de sauver la vie de nombreux enfants EB.

Partagez cet article:

Propulsé par SEO Platinum SEO à partir Techblissonline

Posts Tagged ‘California’

August 18th, 2014 by admin

9 Comments

Aspiring Mormon Women

Aspiring Mormon Women

Naomi Watkins

Just when Naomi Watkins thought she was done with school forever, she felt the Lord redirect her path. Now she wants to encourage other women to find that inspiration for themselves. To help with that goal, she founded Aspiring Mormon Women, a non-profit organization intended to support and celebrate the educational and professional aspirations of LDS women. “God does not place limits on us,” Naomi says, “and learning to listen to and follow the Spirit are paramount skills to develop.”

July 16th, 2014 by admin

7 Comments

To Be A Vessel

To Be A Vessel

Jamillah Ali-Rashada

As a young woman, Jamillah Ali-Rashada prayed that Allah would let her live to raise children. In return, she promised that she would serve others for the rest of her life. She’s kept that promise by trying to be a vessel for the Spirit and its guidance. When Jamillah joined the LDS Church three years ago, she found her path leading to new and profound avenues for serving God’s children. “I have been purposed and called to this for such a time as this,” Jamillah says.”If that is the work and the service that I am supposed to perform, then it is my Heaven.”

April 9th, 2014 by admin

4 Comments

Snapshot Portrait: Laura Breksa

Snapshot Portrait: Laura Breksa

Richmond, CA, April 2, 2014

“God was like a neighbor who lived a few houses down the street. I’d go to him when something was broken, come back to collect the repaired problem, wave my hand in unspoken thanks, and speed back home.”

June 5th, 2013 by admin

5 Comments

Mohawk Junkie

Mohawk Junkie

Jessamyn Lau

Jessamyn Lau, a high school drop-out turned art student turned MBA, speaks about her philosophy of risk-taking and her confidence in being a daughter of God. Jessamyn’s non-traditional career path has led her from waitressing to teaching in China and now to building the field of social entrepreneurship. She’s proof that calculated risks can pay off. Her advice? Be bold. Be deliberate. Be prayerful. And try getting a mohawk.

March 6th, 2013 by admin

25 Comments

Betty Stevenson grew up in an African-American community near San Francisco. After spiraling through abusive relationships, drug dealing and jail, she joined the Church. Betty served for many years as the Relief Society president of the newly formed Oakland Ninth Branch, composed of some of Oakland’s poorest neighborhoods, and she is the founder of an organization that hosts free football camps. In addition, Betty is raising her three great-grandchildren.

October 21st, 2012 by admin

19 Comments

An American Education

An American Education

Raquel Perez Johnston

Raquel Johnston is a former Cuban refugee who came to America at age 10. Among the blessings she discovered in the United States, Raquel learned the value of education and became converted to the Church. She has passed both of those legacies on to her seven children.

November 29th, 2011 by admin

11 Comments

Joanna Brooks has emerged as an important commentator on Mormonism for mainstream media. In fact, this year Politico named her as one of 50 commentators to watch in America. She is currently the Chair of the Department of English and Comparative Literature at San Diego State University. She writes about Mormonism and politics for Religion Dispatches and is the author of askmormongirl.com.

August 17th, 2011 by admin

16 Comments

Finding the Balance

Finding the Balance

Liz Wiseman

As a vice president at the Silicon Valley giant, Oracle, for 17 years, Liz Wiseman learned to say no to any commitment that wasn’t work, church or her four children. Now as an author and managing her own leadership consultancy, Liz works with her husband at home and recently visited her 32nd country. She feels her greatest honor, though, is putting everything she’s learned to work for the benefit of the Church.

August 5th, 2011 by admin

5 Comments

Keeping His Promise

Keeping His Promise

Bonnie Butler

While many moms juggle kids and a career, Bonnie has juggled kids as a career. She has been a mother to her own four biological kids as well as her six adopted kids, and many foster children have been blessed by her care and love. She didn’t know that this was part of the plan for her, but she has come to understand God’s word, and follow it. He has trusted her, and she has learned that the difficult things in life bring many blessings.

March 31st, 2011 by admin

9 Comments

Your Trial Is Your Greatest Treasure

Your Trial Is Your Greatest Treasure

Barbara Barrington Jones

A popular speaker to LDS youth and women around the world, Barbara Barrington Jones shares the events and lessons of her life that have allowed her to touch so many in her 24 years of public speaking. After a career as a ballet dancer and twelve years in an abusive marriage, Barbara married a much older man with whom she found the Church. With her trademark faith, strength and wit, Barbara tells her remarkable story and shares her pearls of wisdom.

February 23rd, 2011 by admin

16 Comments

Melissa Puente is an Emmy-winning television editor and a mother of two sets of twin boys, ages 4 and 2. With four boys under three, Melissa felt tension in her home that didn’t reflect her gratitude at having her children safely with her. She challenged herself to read parenting books and document her responses on her own website, Learning Mommy. She now takes her education as a mother as seriously as her education as a TV editor.

February 16th, 2011 by admin

15 Comments

Shu-Chih grew up in Taiwan, came to the United States by herself as a teenager and joined the Mormon Church. She had to overcome many obstacles, including family disapproval, living in a foreign country and raising three kids as a single mom. Shu-Chih is an accomplished artist and owns her own art school where she teaches a growing Chinese population in Irvine, CA.

June 16th, 2010 by admin

1 Comment

Living Essentials

Living Essentials

Rebecca Cressman

As a high school student, Rebecca decided that broadcasting was definitely not an industry in which she wanted to work. However, her dynamic radio personality and distinctive voice opened doors to television and radio work which she pursued piecemeal as her three sons were young. Now with grown children, Rebecca is the host of FM 100.3 in Salt Lake City and a host on BYU TV.

October 28th, 2009 by admin

4 Comments

From Dancing to Diapers

From Dancing to Diapers

Lisa Hess Jones

Lisa Jones is the mother of two sons, one on a mission and one in high school. But before she was “mom”, she was a solo dancer at the New York City Ballet from 1975 to 1985 and a favorite of the company’s founder George Balanchine. Lisa talks about these two distinct eras in her life and why she was so ready to transition from thinking about herself as a dancer to thinking about someone else as a mother.

October 19th, 2009 by admin

5 Comments

Beyond This Mortal Coil

Beyond This Mortal Coil

Lynn Anderson

Two of Lynn Anderson’s natural born children carried a rare genetic disease — epidermolysis bullosa (EB) — which prevents a child’s skin from growing with their body. After thirty years of nursing her children and grieving their deaths, Lynn founded an organization that raised money for EB research at Stanford University. Lynn now rejoices in a newly-approved treatment that will save the lives of many EB children.

SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline